The Generation That Won’t

I am the future and I have no self-esteem,
the loss of privilege and a faded American dream.

I speak freely but I don’t demonstrate,
I go to the dark lonely closets to quietly commiserate,
I take the bait from others controlling my fate,
They tell me what I ate and who I should hate.

I memorize nine numbers and deny I have a soul,
I neglect my morals and turn my heart into coal,
I endlessly dig my hole to play a systemic role,
I go in debt to enroll because social norm is my goal.

I am the future and I have no self-esteem,
the loss of privilege and a faded American dream.

I glorify the past and our beloved tradition,
I heed the doctrine and follow without suspicion,
I sign a petition to save my nutrition,
But spare sedition because of admission.

I want to change the world and the suffering,
I cry resistance but trust those governing,
I want transparency but degrade those who are uncovering,
I lose that thought and go give the Material Gods their offering.

I am the future and I have no self-esteem,
the loss of privilege and a faded American dream.

Through it all I don’t realize that change is struggle,
I don’t see the importance of stepping out of my bubble,
I don’t want to risk anything or get in trouble,
So I take the easy route and reach for the shovel,

to dig …
to dig deeper…

into the earth and out of mind,
so deep it turns me blind,
I will stay confined,
and leave my empathy undefined.

I am the future and I have no self-esteem,
the loss of privilege and a faded American dream.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

